How can we help you?

What is the Bernina Express and which route does it follow?

This premium panoramic train winds through the UNESCO World Heritage site of the Rhaetian Railway. The bright-red train skilfully masters every ascent, offering unforgettable views of mountains, glaciers and palm trees.

The Alpine crossing with the Bernina Express will take you from Chur, via Filisur, St Moritz and Alp Grüm, all the way to Tirano in Italy. From February until around the middle of November, you can then easily change for the Bernina Express Bus to Lugano. The Bernina Express takes passengers from Landquart into the Valposchiavo and then on to Tirano.

The route is subject to a surcharge per person in both directions (seat reservations are mandatory for both train and bus). This surcharge varies according to the season. The Swiss Travel Pass is valid along the entire route.

Book the Bernina Express.


Timetable, tickets, fares, seat reservations, luggage, tips on excursions

Was this article helpful?

  • 105 out of 171 found this helpful

Ask our experts

Ask experts from the community for advice



All topics